On my way to Kojan!

As many of ya know, I have been playing with my “Immersion Project” rules and decided to try   using no in game map anymore. I simply printed off some higher quality hand drawn maps (that have no markers on them) and use those instead. Right before I decided to start this part of the project, I went to Trengal Keep to kill some mobs for my Shadow Puppy quest. Then, I let this character rest for a few days, to help some of the memories of locations fade.


I logged him in, and lo and behold, I knew where I was, but felt totally lost. I looked at my paper map in my real life hands, and knew I needed to go south. Before this part of the project I made up a semi-random backstory that told me my mother had given me a map, and that I needed to follow it. The maps started in Thestra, near Trengal Keep, and ended HERE:

So when my character “woke up” and looked around, I tried to get my bearings by using the compass. I knew I need to go south, but I made rules forbidding me from using flying mounts (Rikoo can’t use them yet) or Riftways (Rikoo sucks at magic and doesn’t have an easy time traveling by rift.)
It surprised me how hard it was to get my bearings felt out. I went on top of a hill to look around:

And soon enough it was dark (I stared at the map for EVER.) I came across the side of Trengal.

So I made my way around, the LONG way, sometimes going west but always keeping an eye on that big S on the compass. Eventually I could see a road in the distance. At first, it looked like a river.

I came to a sign telling me I was near Three Rivers (all this time I am trying to mark on the map, but I still wasn’t totally sure where i WAS.)

So I continued on across a bridge, who’s name I forget. (I often will F12 the UI so that there is nothing on the screen.)

I was so happy to see a small town, and to see an even smaller Bed and Breakfast. At this point I had been playing a while, and I had to go pick my wife up. So I left my character in a room, resting. Also, he had been up since sundown the last night, and it was now morning.

Next day (late day) I continued on, and discovered the sign telling me I was going the right way to get to New Taragnor. I was happy, SURELY someone would have a boat there. 9The new rules said I could only get from continent to continent with a boat, and since I didn’t own one, I would have to charter one.)

Ahhh, New Taragnor! What a beautiful city. HUGE too. I was happy to see it, and although I had been there before, I was still unsure of where to go, so it felt like seeing a new city.

Seems an old friend of mine had made camp there, and found a part time job handing out jobs to poor crafters. I think this was the Vanguard equivalent of DMV worker, being that this “old friend” of mine wasn’t very talkative.

I did a little sightseeing, and some of the buildings left me in awe!

Then I stumbled upon a friendly gnome, and he told me he although he did not have a boat, his friend did:

He was nice enough to go find his friend.

His boat was awesome, to say the least. I have been on a few, but none like this one.

We came across some giant gateway, and went into it. I didn’t feel anything, but we re-appeared in the middle of some new ocean.

In this image below you can see the small city on the right. That’s what I saw, and decided to be dropped off there.

And dropped off I was. I paid the man, and we vowed to buy each other an ale sometime.
So, here I was, in this new city, not even sure where the city was on the map. I would look for some landmarks, and go from there. I know I need to go south again, all the way down, then south once more. I have a ways to go.

I logged my character out in what looked lik an inn, and will set him off tomorrow. I know Kojan is pretty, but I’m not looking forward to all the swimming I might have to do.

Beau

9 Responses

  1. This was fabulous, Beau!

    Rikoo’s adventure seemed endless and so intriguing! Luper must find Rikoo on his adventure. She is due for a journey. She’s a cartographer, so Rikoo will have to let her make a copy of his mother’s map, so she’ll have one for her adventures.

    I am looking forward to more stories and wonderful screen shots! Some of them were really stunning! Luper says she’s sorry your friend was so untalkative. Perhaps, she had a long day?

    Can’t wait for more,

    ~Luper

  2. Well, it’s delicate, but I could let ya give it a try.

    And uhm, don’t copy the part that says “To my widdle schookums.”

  3. Now this is pretty awesome! It’s like the comicbook of an actual saga of a hero we have known and grown-up with. Have you done this before with your Ryzom charaters Beau? It seems such a natural progression for your Immersion Project(tm) (yeah… I copyrighted that for ya..no need to thank me heh) Now I’m riveted and hope you can continue the Adventures of Rikoo Rakoo: Hero Half-Fox Mutant…thing..
    Oh, by the way, the Blog site looks great and Luper is a serious writer. Try to keep ahold of that one bro.

    Mash

  4. Glade to see you are pushing on with the Immersion Project. untill I get back (in less than a month) up and running. I am having to live my MMO life thrue the I .P.(Immersion Project).
    Loved the break down of your way to Kojan.
    I played a little of the open beta. and stoped before I shot myself or my PC for not being able to run it right. Then lost it all before it went live. So in a little less than a month when I load VG back up and all the patching is done. I will start my on Immersion Project. I will start off using your rule set for it. I can only think that this will be a lot like when I logged into EverQuest for the first time. Just with out the “what the hell do I do now” thing we all had.

    Alik Steel

  5. I saw your Immersion Project through a role playing article on some website recently and then heard you talking about it on Witty Ranter. It peaked my interest enough that I figured I’d check out Vanguard again. It has been off my radar since Beta due to the horrid launch and I’m a huge Tolkien fan so I wandered off to that world for a bit before rejoining some real life friends in EQ2. They are gone for the summer though so Vanguard and Immersion is looking pretty interesting.

    Thanks for bringing it to my attention and keep up the excellent blog posts!

  6. This project is awesome, so many ideas that I’d not even considered. If I may make a few small suggestions? Perhaps you could wear a motorcycle crash helmet and eight or nine layers of clothing, then have your wife pummel you with an aluminium baseball bat during combat. Maybe you could strip naked, cover yourself in a simple flour and water mix and roll around your local barbershop floor to get that real Raki hirsute covering. Start urinating, in small amounts all around your local territory. And of course lick a few neighbourhood cats once in a while to enable you to cough up those trademark Raki furballs. Joking aside, it’s a great project Beau, keep up the good work.

  7. I have to say, Beau, that between your Immersion Project and the general philosophy you offer in VoV (can I say that? Hasn’t been heard much since Troy), I’m very impressed. While I respect Luper greatly, I’m much more firmly in your camp when it comes to gamestyle.

    I have several friends who seek to achieve high levels quickly, and in all truthfulness they are quite good at it. But the odd part is when you ask them, “how did you like [name of dungeon/game feature]?” they cannot answer. They didn’t really notice. Personally, I prefer to enjoy both the art and the craft of the game developers and artists.

    Best of luck to Rikoo in his journeys.

  8. Hey now, Burtimus!

    If you ask me “how did you like [name of dungeon/game feature]? I have answers, baby! So, I wouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover.

    Just because I am in a raiding guild, doesn’t mean I don’t also enjoy the immersion/RP aspects of games. I do. I love Telon. It’s a beautiful world. I enjoy both aspects of the game, not just one.

    I’d have to say Beau is the one who enjoys one aspect of the game, but that doesn’t make his enjoyment of the game any less or any more than mine.

    ~Luper the Dragonslayer

  9. Settle down, Luper, I wasn’t referring to you. :) It’s pretty clear from your comments that you are of a different breed from the guys I was referring to. I suspect that they are trying to be *quick* at raising levels. I presume you to be *efficient* at doing so. Yeah, there’s a difference.

    I think you guys have a terrific blend of sense and sensibilities when it comes to game coverage. As I said before, I have a great deal of respect for you and your opinions.

    After all, it’s not too many people who could pique the curiosity of this old RPer to get his raid on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

